• English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Русский
Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.
RadioBOSS box
RadioBOSS makes automating your broadcast to the world, your business or shop professional, simple, affordable, reliable.

Author Topic: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming  (Read 1833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10333
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« on: December 17, 2019, 09:07:50 AM »
Configure RadioBOSS and your mixer board to stream mixer output from RadioBOSS. The general idea is shown on the attached image.

1. Connect microphones and other audio sources to the mixer. Alternatively, microphone can be connected to the computer to use with the MIC button in RadioBOSS: https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/enabling_microphone.htm

2. If your mixer board supports USB, connect it to the computer. The mixer will become available as an audio device in Windows (at least one playback device and one recording device).

2.1. For analog mixers that do not support a USB connection, the mixer out should be connected to the "line input" on the computer, and the "audio out" on the computer connected to one of the inputs on the mixer board, using audio cables.

3. Select mixer as the playback device (Main sound card) in RadioBOSS: https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/playback.htm

4. Select mixer as the input device (Input 1) in RadioBOSS: https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/microphone___line-in.htm

5. Configure the mixer board to route the main mix (mixer out) to USB. Typically, there is a button or a slider on the mixer board that does it. This is important, otherwise RadioBOSS playback can be attenuated or absent from the mixer output.

6. Change streaming audio source in RadioBOSS: https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/broadcast.htm - the Source selector is located at the top right corner, select Input 1 there to make it use Mixer Out for streaming.


Adjustments

Open Control Panel, Sound applet.

1. You will probably need to adjust levels for the audio devices - select the appropriate device and make sure it does not clip or that the sound is too quiet.

2. Sometimes recording devices provided by a USB mixer will use "Mono" output by default. You should change it to stereo (please see the image attached).

Getting rid of latency

Use ASIO when selecting mixer in RadioBOSS (steps 3 and 4), for both playback and input. If a mixer does not support ASIO, you can install Asio4All: http://www.asio4all.org
« Last Edit: December 18, 2019, 07:42:31 AM by djsoft »
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Bonne

  • Posts: 4
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 02:53:38 PM »
Hi

Didn't work here at home, going step by step as you describe but it idn't work
The software constantly ignores my analog mixer

Bonne

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10333
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2020, 01:24:35 AM »
If you use analog mixer, RadioBOSS will not be able to see it - in this case, it only operates with computer inputs and outputs that are connected to a mixer.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Bonne

  • Posts: 4
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2020, 04:43:26 AM »
Maybe thats the point
I connect my Line output to the Mixer in an Main input and my playback ouput back to the mixer in stereo channel, the point is that i can't regulate the sound over my mixer, because Radio Boss ignores it, there is permanent sound signal in Radio Boss, it seems that the software didn't work in that way

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10333
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2020, 05:59:37 AM »
RadioBOSS outputs playback to the main sound card, as specified in the settings: https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/playback.htm
This does not involve mixer.

If you want to hear mixed output, then you need to connect your speakers to the mixer.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Bonne

  • Posts: 4
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2020, 06:08:43 AM »
Done it in that way , step by step as in your description, but Radio Boss ingnores my mixer in constantly
Sorry but it didn't work here at my workstation, search for a user who comes from germany, to talk about in german

djsp1

  • Posts: 6
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2020, 03:52:19 AM »
What if I dont want to use the built in soundcard (line in Mic in etc)?

Is there a way to set this up with two usb soundcards and an analog mixer?

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10333
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2020, 05:02:33 AM »
What if I dont want to use the built in soundcard (line in Mic in etc)?

Is there a way to set this up with two usb soundcards and an analog mixer?
MIC and Line.In in RadioBOSS are not devices by themselves, you can make those inputs use any sound device, please see the following user manual topics:
https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/enabling_microphone.htm
https://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/working_with_linear_input.htm
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Milan

  • Posts: 6
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2020, 10:02:28 AM »
We have connected our broadcasting PC  to USB mixer SOUNDCRAFT Signature10.
My problem: On-air sound does not go to the internet  through the mixer but directly from the Ethernet output of the PC.  The mixer is working only as a monitoring interface of the broadcasted content. I.e. I can prelisten songs in the playback cue and in file directories, I can record announcements into RB with microphone connected to the mixer (VT) and listen back through mixer headphones, but on-air sound is not influenced by the mixer USB  output.
Please find attached setup of my mixer and Playback devices. What is setup wrongly?
Thank you for your kind response.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10333
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2020, 03:36:24 PM »
You need to select the mixer as one of the input devices and then select this input for broadcasting - please see the steps in the first post, especially steps 4, 5, 6.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Nikos

  • Posts: 1
Re: Using mixer board with RadioBOSS for streaming
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2020, 05:44:48 AM »
Buongiorno, sono nuovo della chat, mi scuso se ho inserito la mia domanda in un posto sbagliato.
Io ho una piccola radio web ed ho istallato radioboss, ho collegato al mio pc con windows 10 un mixere esterno beheringer q1202usb, ho collegato l'uscita delle cuffie (PC) con cavo aux 3,5 mm all'ingresso line 11712 del mixer e poi con cavo rca uscita mixer out ingresso microfono del pc.
Ora sembra che tutto funzioni solo quando accendo il microfono la musica non si abbassa e soprattutto il microfono entra con un reverbero che non si capisce nulla. Come posso eliminare questo problema? sbaglio il collegamento?
Grazie