Keep a minimum number of tracks in playlist

OrangeLazarus

Hello all, I am still a little new to RadioBoss and am attempting to create a 'queue' playlist that does the following:
  • Deletes track after playing (this works fine)
  • Adds new track(s) using repeat protection/rotation priority when the number of tracks falls below a threshhold (say 10 items)
  • Adds requested tracks to end of playlist (seems easy enough to implement)
The second item is what I'm having difficulty with currently. I know that I can use remote API to select a track/playlist to add as needed, but it would be great if I do that automagically somehow. I have experimented with scheduling the addition of a random track, but I additionally have an issue with it waiting to pick the track until it comes time to play (perhaps that is a feature and not a bug :))
1675881846798.png

My goal is to be able to display a list of upcoming tracks to the user. I know that I can have a very long 'queue' playlist and limit the result set using 'cnt' with the remote api, but I then I still have an issue of inserting requested tracks at a variable index (if there are already queued requests).

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

If you use Track List deleting after playback is not a very good idea, because you have few items already and risk ending up with an empty playlist. You can build a rotation by enabling the "Repeat playlist" option (a button under the playlist) so it will loop through Track List items.
You can insert requested songs using a scheduled event, they will be inserted after the currently playing track list item (or at a different position, depending on how you configure an event).

Sometihng to be aware of (unless it's changed recently) the repeat protection only works within the playlist you are generating. I don't think it looks back to see what has been played in the last hour etc when you add tracks