• English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Русский
Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.
RadioBOSS box
RadioBOSS makes automating your broadcast to the world, your business or shop professional, simple, affordable, reliable.

Author Topic: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]  (Read 179573 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #165 on: December 07, 2012, 06:21:44 AM »
Casey
Just to make sure - are you talking about Prelisten or Monitor sound card? Pre-listen card used to preview tracks (eg right-click->Prelisten), and to play tracks in Music Library, Track Tool and other modules. It's not supposed to be used for 2-hours playback.

dave-t
Yes, USB cards is a good solution, but I don't have enough statistics about their reliability.
Another option would be to use an ASIO sound card like E-Mu for main playback and use integrated audio for prelisten.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #166 on: December 07, 2012, 08:26:41 PM »
Casey
Just to make sure - are you talking about Prelisten or Monitor sound card? Pre-listen card used to preview tracks (eg right-click->Prelisten), and to play tracks in Music Library, Track Tool and other modules.

I was talking about Prelisten (Preview) USB soundcard.
(No problem with monitor using internal sc or the feed via USB transmitter.)

Quote (selected)
It's not supposed to be used for 2-hours playback.

I was referring  to using Prelisten 2 hours later.. not for that long a duration.. :)

Update..

The last report was after running RB and the computer for an extended time, over 24 hours. I will not always run for this long a time, this was for testing. The area I cover has few people awake in the wee hours of the morning, other than me ..   I could always do an auto reboot during this time of morning.

The next  test, today .... I have only been running for 7+ hours, since the last computer reboot. The Prelisten soundcard is still working fine - no distorted audio.

What ever the problem was/is would appears related to something that changes over time.

I have also considered that this is a very cheap USB sc, this could be part of the problem. In future I will try some higher quality sc.. I'm sure I have some around here, likely out in my shed but with no heat, I don't plan on spending much time searching out there when it's   -20 °C .. :)

This current setup was just for testing in this configuration. The USB transmitter is a backup.  I wanted to see how it would work with RB. It worked well and proved to be viable.  I will be changing to my higher power transmitter, for the Christmas season special event transmissions.

Having a separate soundcard for PrelListen and Monitor is very handy. If the cheap USB sound cards can be used, it makes this something most can afford. I plan to have this capability when I have the computer setup in a more permanent location.

Casey

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #167 on: December 08, 2012, 04:07:49 AM »
Update on the PreListen Soundcard distortion problem

So today after 8 1/2 hours it came back (distorted audio on PreListen sc)

I'm not sure if it happened because of how long the programs were running or due to what I was doing on the system..

Here is the series of events.. I was showing the RB setup to a friend..

- I showed how PreListen worked.. played parts of a few mp3 files.. the audio sound fine.

- Next I was showing how RadioLogger works..  (it is uses the same soundcard for play back as PreListen)

-  played a log file on RL - the audio was distorted.

- went back to RB and tried PreListen again, the audio was distorted in RB.

 - I shut down RadioLogger & then RadioBOSS ... then Restarted, first RadioLogger, then  RadioBOSS.

After this the audio for both PreListen and RadioLogger play back were working fine.

5 hours later and all is still working fine... :)

Casey

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #168 on: December 08, 2012, 01:50:16 PM »
So when 2 programs use the same sound card, sound becomes broken? For me it looks like sound card's driver problem. I've just tried the same setup and no distorted sound... Is it USB sound card you're trying on? Can you try the same on integrated audio?

I have also considered that this is a very cheap USB sc, this could be part of the problem. In future I will try some higher quality sc.. I'm sure I have some around here, likely out in my shed but with no heat, I don't plan on spending much time searching out there when it's   -20 °C .. :)
Yes, cheap sound card can be a problem... Probably it just doesn't like to be "initialized" for a long time. RB can reset that of course, a kind of workaround for cheap cards :)
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #169 on: December 08, 2012, 04:01:22 PM »
RadioBOSS 4.8.0.5
Changed:
- bugs fixed in Ad Scheduler
- bugs fixed in Playlist Generator Pro
- CPU meter removed [actually moved to the Debug Window: Ctrl+D]
- added option to disable "Repeat Playlist" button (Settings->Controls)
- changed notice about upcoming scheduler event
- changed DTMF handling [details below]
- Mute button now only mutes Monitor sound card
- Monitor sound card automatically muted when MIC activated
- MIC button moved to bottom right corner under playlist window
- removed MIC button from toolbar

Download: http://dl.djsoft.net/beta/radioboss_4.8.0.5_beta.exe

How DTMF works now:
Event start time is taken into account: DTMF is checked 5 times prior event start time (all options like Repeat, Days of week and others are considered).
If event was started by DTMF it won't start on its start time. If there was no DTMF signal detected (for whatever reason) - event will launch on its start time as usual.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Joshua

  • Posts: 22
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #170 on: December 08, 2012, 06:29:43 PM »


Quote (selected)
Joshua
There shouldn't be any delay... Please post a screenshot of Microphone/LineIn settings here. This will help to find what could be a problem.

Hallo,

here is a Screenshot, PTT enabled (then by push 1-2 sec. hang´s), when disabled it´s ok.

Hello,

the same Problem in 4.8.0.5

Grretz
Joshua

dave-t

  • Posts: 257
  • For The Music We Have Lived
    • Radio 45 Gold
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #171 on: December 08, 2012, 06:36:41 PM »
Looking better  ;)  :)

Love the larger font in the now playing window

Great improvement to the info for the next schedule

The change in background color is however not alerting me to that a schedule is due

DPI issue still exists in left window

I have just installed it on an old Atom laptop with 1gb of memory - Impressed !

All Music, playlists and database now running from a NAS box. I will try batch playlist generation in the next couple of days
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 07:09:05 PM by dave-t »
Regards
Dave

Web:-      www.radio45gold.co.uk
Twitter: - @Radio45Gold

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #172 on: December 09, 2012, 06:13:59 AM »
here is a Screenshot, PTT enabled (then by push 1-2 sec. hang´s), when disabled it´s ok.
the same Problem in 4.8.0.5
[/quote]
Is your setup the same as you posted here http://www.djsoft.net/smf/index.php?topic=3165.msg10347#msg10347 ?
A quick test didn't confirm the problem.

The change in background color is however not alerting me to that a schedule is due
You can also make the flashing longer than the default 10 seconds: open Settings->General and adjust the "Scheduler event flashing time".

DPI issue still exists in left window
Can you please post screenshot of a problem? Probably you've set too large font size, and it doesn't fit there...
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Joshua

  • Posts: 22
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #173 on: December 09, 2012, 06:52:24 AM »
@djsoft,

yes, setup is the same

Greetz
Joshua

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #174 on: December 09, 2012, 08:02:40 AM »
@djsoft,

yes, setup is the same
It's really strange... Same setup here works fine. Can you try restarting your PC and try again?
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

dave-t

  • Posts: 257
  • For The Music We Have Lived
    • Radio 45 Gold
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #175 on: December 09, 2012, 09:23:51 AM »
Font is set to Verdana 11pt Bold - screenshot attached

Setting the "flashing" alert for longer - already set to 30 seconds - would not make any difference.

even sitting the normal distance from the PC I am unable to see any "details". Colors are fine but there would have to be a significant difference changing a background color for it to be noticed. Quite simply, the red flashing text is great ONCE your attention has been drawn to it but it needs something quite bold to attract your attention in the first place - hence my request to flash the background color of the clock  ;)

Any such feature should have the facility to enable/disable as it is important NOT to impose an accessibility function on those who do not need it or want it.

Regards

Dave
Regards
Dave

Web:-      www.radio45gold.co.uk
Twitter: - @Radio45Gold

Joshua

  • Posts: 22
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #176 on: December 09, 2012, 01:31:18 PM »
@djsoft,

yes, setup is the same
It's really strange... Same setup here works fine. Can you try restarting your PC and try again?

Hello,

after PC restart it´s ok.
Sorry :-\

Greetz
Joshua

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #177 on: December 10, 2012, 04:45:15 AM »
So when 2 programs use the same sound card, sound becomes broken? For me it looks like sound card's driver problem. I've just tried the same setup and no distorted sound... Is it USB sound card you're trying on? Can you try the same on integrated audio?

So far the problem is only with the USB Soundcard.

I have changed the setup so now the PreListen is using the integrated audio and monitor is using the USB soundcard. With this set up I have lost the monitor audio a couple of time and restarting RB was the only way to get it working again. The PreListen has been just fine.

Quote (selected)
Yes, cheap sound card can be a problem... Probably it just doesn't like to be "initialized" for a long time. RB can reset that of course, a kind of workaround for cheap cards :)

It looks very much like the USB soundcard it the problem. :( 
Tomorrow I will be installing a PCI soundcard in the computer, we will see if this fixes the problem.

- - - - - - - - -
Here is one for you.. a little funny, after the fact. The positive side, this is not RB fault but this sure had me wondering/confused for a bit.

I picked up my headphones that were connected to the USB soundcard.. music stopped - RB hung up, the only thing that was working was the time & playback counters.. nothing else worked. The USB transmitter I was using for testing on this setup shut down.. no carrier. What the....

I stopped a moment to think this situation over.. At 65, sometimes things don't come so fast.. finally the light bulb lite up.. I had to be that static some how went from the metal band on the headphones to the computer.. I never thought the metal band was actually connected to the cable.. Static electricity is a common problem during the winter, where I live, due to the air being very dry in the house. I am usually very careful about this but I goofed this time.

I tried restarting RB but that didn't get things going..  I did find that in RB the playback devices had all changed..  Add to this the computer audio had been muted and the USB transmitter still was not working..  At this point I was almost ready to accept that I had fried something. Anyway, to sum this up, all is well and working fine after shutting down the computer and restart.  :)

So the moral of the story,

1) - a little static charge can sure screw things up.
2) - if all else fails, shutting down and restarting the computer can fix a lot of problems!

Computers can be so much fun!  LOL

Casey
« Last Edit: December 10, 2012, 05:11:40 AM by Casey »

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #178 on: December 10, 2012, 05:05:13 AM »
RadioBOSS 4.8.0.5
Changed:
- bugs fixed in Ad Scheduler
- bugs fixed in Playlist Generator Pro
- CPU meter removed [actually moved to the Debug Window: Ctrl+D]
- added option to disable "Repeat Playlist" button (Settings->Controls)
- changed notice about upcoming scheduler event
- changed DTMF handling [details below]
- Mute button now only mutes Monitor sound card
- Monitor sound card automatically muted when MIC activated
- MIC button moved to bottom right corner under playlist window
- removed MIC button from toolbar

No problems yet with RadioBOSS 4.8.0.5..

Mute button and Mic mute - excellent  :)

MIC button moved to bottom right corner - great idea, much easier to work with! :)

Thanks .. Casey

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10409
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #179 on: December 10, 2012, 06:13:49 AM »
Font is set to Verdana 11pt Bold - screenshot attached
OK, this will be fixed.

even sitting the normal distance from the PC I am unable to see any "details". Colors are fine but there would have to be a significant difference changing a background color for it to be noticed. Quite simply, the red flashing text is great ONCE your attention has been drawn to it but it needs something quite bold to attract your attention in the first place - hence my request to flash the background color of the clock  ;)
Hmm... It can flash with red background (but that looks too aggressive), but still in the "Coming up next" box. I really don't think scheduler should be in the Clock at all - doesn't make much sense, and it duplicates the flashing in Coming up next box. 2 flashing boxes is just too much. I think a setting will be added to change the way it flashes, as you proposed.

I have changed the setup so now the PreListen is using the integrated audio and monitor is using the USB soundcard. With this set up I have lost the monitor audio a couple of time and restarting RB was the only way to get it working again. The PreListen has been just fine.
Yes, and again problem with USB card :( Looks like those cards are not designed to work for extended periods of time.

Tomorrow I will be installing a PCI soundcard in the computer, we will see if this fixes the problem.
That would be interesting. Let me know how it goes.

So the moral of the story,

1) - a little static charge can sure screw things up.
2) - if all else fails, shutting down and restarting the computer can fix a lot of problems!

Computers can be so much fun!  LOL
Well, that's the happy-end of your story :) In the past I've killed several hardware pieces with static. Some of them stopped working right away, some - just started to work incorrectly. It's a good idea to touch something like metal pipe to get rid of static before working with hardware :) (I've seen special pipes for those purposes in server rooms).
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net