• English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Русский
Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.
RadioBOSS box
RadioBOSS makes automating your broadcast to the world, your business or shop professional, simple, affordable, reliable.

Author Topic: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]  (Read 179251 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Christian

  • Posts: 210
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #240 on: December 16, 2012, 12:55:48 PM »
Hi,

   Is it possible to install and use other tts such as the ones from Acapela ? http://www.acapela-group.com/text-to-speech-interactive-demo.html

Christian

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #241 on: December 17, 2012, 12:04:56 AM »
This can be explained by mismatched sample rate. Even when you select 48000Hz in the settings, a card can run at 48010Hz, and the other card runs at 48005Hz - this little rate mismatch is inaudible, but over time it goes out of sync more and more.

Thank for the explanation! ...  I should have though of that.. We use soundcards for some amateur radio software, where it is necessary to calibrate to a Known frequency standard.

However, I found later that this becomes a problem, for me, when experimenting with how to use RB manually.. full live operation*. The sound delay between the output (to the transmitter) and monitor becomes more confusing in live operation. In my case the RB display, visual indication of playback and count down timer etc are in sync with the output. This gives me several seconds difference between the visual (on screen) and monitor (audio) cues..  It got a bit confusing at times...   ???

I checked the device settings again.. I though I may have found the problem.. There was a difference in the default buffer settings. The output (main) was set to 50 and the Monitor was set to 75.  Unfortunately, this was not the answer..   :(

Is there anyway that sound cards could be calibrated to stay closer to each other? Did you notice anything like this when you tested your 3 soundcard set up?  I have another sound blaster soundcard, the same model as currently installed.  I will have to install that to see if the 2 SB cards can stay closer in frequency..

(*More on live operation in a later post, I hope that part could be improved)

Casey
MY FM Radio - 106.9
« Last Edit: December 17, 2012, 02:02:38 AM by Casey »

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #242 on: December 17, 2012, 01:37:12 AM »
Yes, I agree with your requests regarding Scheduler - those will be added in the future versions.

Thank you, I look forward to this!

Quote (selected)
About voice tracks - those are treated in a different way, you don't need to use special file type for those. More info: http://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/voice_tracking.htm

Yes, I read that part of the manual but did not fully understand it at first. The problem is in how I was using the voice tracking recorder initially.

My first use of the voice tracking recorder was recording voice announcements and save them to be called from the scheduler.  This is where I had noticed the problem with beginning and end of the voice file being lost due to fade-in and fade-out.

So now after more experimenting and learning, I understand of the main intended use of voice tracking. I have heard about how modern radio stations use voice tracking but had never use it myself. So when I record a voice track and insert in in the play list, it plays as intended, per the manual.  It sounds very pro!  :)

However, if I record a track using the voice tracking recorder, save it (but don't insert) and called from the scheduler, RB does not handle the file the same. The file looks to be handled like a regular audio file. In this case the file would need special naming so the "file type" can be set to handle how it is played back.

Casey
MY FM Radio - 106.9

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #243 on: December 17, 2012, 03:34:52 AM »
nelson c
Thank you for ideas, I've added it to the list for the future Remote Control feature.

   Is it possible to install and use other tts such as the ones from Acapela ? http://www.acapela-group.com/text-to-speech-interactive-demo.html
Their voice is better than the MS Speech... but they don't listen prices so I suspect it's expensive :(

Casey
While testing, the Main and Monitor cards were slightly out of sync. I'll see if that can be improved.
But you've started with the right direction: buffer sizes should be the same.
You can use ASIO4ALL [http://www.asio4all.com] and switch all sc's to use ASIO - it will remove latency and should make cards output playback synchronously.

About voice tracks, there's currently a limitation - voice tracks have to be saved to the default directory to be handled as VT's (this will be changed in the future). Probably you're saving them somewhere else and that's why they play as regular files...
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #244 on: December 17, 2012, 03:43:36 AM »
Text To Speech can be used to say any text. While it's not for professional radio stations, there are many situations when it can be useful, eg parties, fun radio stations, etc :) It can also say current time and day.

Syntax: TTS=+N;text
+N (or -N) is talk speed, can be from -9 to +9. Zero must have a sign too (either + or -).
text - a text you want program to speak. Can contain XML tags as described here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms717077(v=vs.85).aspx and hour/minute/day macro:
%h - hour
%m - minute
%s - second
%D - day
%M - month
%dw - week day

Example:
TTS=+1;<EMPH>it's %dw %Dth of %M the time is %h hours and %m minutes thank you for listening our cool radio</EMPH>

I wonder if anyone else reading this Forum is still confused about how to use this, as I was?

The post didn't really say how it was to be used/implemented. After trying a few ways to get text to speech to work, the light bulb finally lite up... 

It's easy once you figure it out... :)

TTS is a command that can be used in the scheduler..

So I add an event and put this in the [Playlist/track filename or command] box  ..

TTS=+1;<EMPH>the time is %h %m</EMPH>

and the time is announced!

The voice needs some fine tuning but can work for my purposes..  ;D

Observations.. 

There is a limit to how long the line can be in the [Playlist/track filename or command] box.. my count is around 85 characters total.

Is it possible to have TTS call a text file or could the be added?

With some tuning the digital voice sounds fairly good.. best of all she works for free!  ;D

However... at some point, for time announcements, could we have the provision to use voice files for saying the time.. and maybe the temperature, like ZaraRadio? I have a collection of audio files from various sources that could be used.. all freely available.

Casey
MY FM Radio - 106.9




djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #245 on: December 17, 2012, 03:55:44 AM »
Yep, some people asked on what to do with the command :) I've modified the first post with a note about this.

The say-time feature is already added, I think an update will be released today. Not sure about weather yet -  probably it goes to 4.8.1. Can you send the temperature/time voice files you have to support@djsoft.net - this will help to test more "sets" and fine-tune the feature.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Christian

  • Posts: 210
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #246 on: December 17, 2012, 05:07:32 AM »
   Is it possible to install and use other tts such as the ones from Acapela ? http://www.acapela-group.com/text-to-speech-interactive-demo.html

Their voice is better than the MS Speech... but they don't listen prices so I suspect it's expensive :(

Yes, I checked a few years ago and it was already very expesive. But maybe, depending of the usage, it could be possible to make a deal with them, using their voices and promoting their company ... Maybe!

Christian

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #247 on: December 17, 2012, 05:20:14 AM »
Maybe you're right, I'll try to approach them... But RB is a commercial software - this fact doesn't help much to get discounts :(

I'm still not sure if TTS can be used in a radio station. While I see some applications for it, like saying time or reading listeners' SMS/messages, I'm not sure if it can be used on a serious station. Acapella TTS sounds pretty live though.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

tibocut

  • Posts: 2
  • ViceVersa radio
    • 128K MP3 stream
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #248 on: December 17, 2012, 05:26:15 AM »
Hello.

I am moving from RadioDJ to RadioBoss.

So far the experience is succesful and I'm very happy with the robustness and the power of RadioBoss.

My experimental path started by converting an automatic playlist (rotation) :
- Jingle English
- Random English radio stream
- Jingle French
- Random French radio stream

The rotation will be extended in the future to include podcasts adn other speech/music files, but this one is the one that must work before all.

On RadioDJ you can put the streams into the database and they have a special file type. The rotation generate the playlist automatically on the fly, as the time goes.

On RadioBoss I've created two m3u playlists : one for the english streams, one for the french streams.
I've used Playlist Generator Pro to create my rotations and saved it as a big playlist.
Then a scheduler event play the next stream each hour.

I don't use any sound plugins from Radio Boss as I use a sound processor called Breakaway Live which does a terrific job.
However some streams have different playback levels : some too quiet, some too loud. Currently Breakaway Live is doing the automatic gain leveling but, as the streams are predictable, it would be nicer to be able to say at the time of import at what audio level each stream should play.

This and treating the streams as first class citizen like audio file would allow them to be stored in the database and tag them more appropriately.
Then my rotation will become more meaningful and easier.

Also I have seen some post that the scheduler will accept more than one command. It will be very handy. Then you're so close to create a little script engine which will make RadioBoss a fully automated radio solution :-)

My last comment goes to the built in broadcaster server.
I would like to know if it's possible to run it on port 80 as many host provider do not let you having a stream on port 80.
When I try it says : Error -1 (no description)
It works well on port 8000
Of course I can modify the firewall and router settings to match 8000 to 80 but I was wondering if out of the box, RadioBoss built in server could do http live streaming or if it would be better to install a third party server designed for the task.

Please note : My internet radio is experimental and non commercial. So please don't judge it as a ripping off other radios. It's part of an educational activity for bilingual english / french students.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2012, 05:29:14 AM by tibocut »
My setup: HP laptop dm1 with AMD E-450 & Radeon HD Graphics @ 1.65 Ghz, 4 GB Ram, IDT embedded sound card - Windows 7-64 bits + RadioBoss 4.8.0.8 + Breakaway Live - PC accessed through RDC on local LAN - Stream1: MP3 128K Wavestreamer Shoutcast - Stream2: AAC+ 64K Whooshserver Icecast

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #249 on: December 17, 2012, 05:48:00 AM »
Welcome tibocut,

Regarding your questions. For a simple rotation
Code: [Select]
- Jingle English
- Random English radio stream
- Jingle French
- Random French radio stream

You can use the Track List feature. It is easier to setup than Playlist Generator Pro:
1. Create playlists for Jingles and Streams, in total you have 4 playlists (or create playlists for streams and keep jingles in folders).
2. Click Playlist->Add Track List... - do this 4 times to add streams and jingles
3. In the result you'll have 4 entries in the playlist. On playback it will select one track (or stream) from the source.
3. Set the "Repeat Playlist" option (under the playlist) to loop it.
That's it. When you add new jingles to a folder - they will be automatically included in the rotaton with no effort.

Regarding stream levels, the next update will have a feature to assign File Types to streams - this will make it possible to correct the playback level (via Settings->File Types). Probably a little box with "level" will be added to the Add URL dialog, as this was asked multiple times already.

Built-in broadcasting server can work on any port. The only condition is: the port must not be in use by another program. Port 80 is often used by HTTP web servers (eg. IIS or Apache) - if you have any of those running, RB can not use this port... You can check if the port is already used with the netstat -a command in the Windows Command Line.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

roygbiv222

  • Guest
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #250 on: December 17, 2012, 06:05:33 AM »
New beta version crashes every new track, if manually and automatic.
System XP home SP3

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #251 on: December 17, 2012, 06:16:16 AM »
New beta version crashes every new track, if manually and automatic.
System XP home SP3
Is there any error message shown?
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

radium98

  • Posts: 211
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #252 on: December 17, 2012, 06:54:05 AM »
The say-time feature is already added, I think an update will be released today.THANKS a 1000 :) a christmas gift for new stable release will be soon ?

tibocut

  • Posts: 2
  • ViceVersa radio
    • 128K MP3 stream
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #253 on: December 17, 2012, 08:02:45 AM »
You can use the Track List feature. It is easier to setup than Playlist Generator Pro:
1. Create playlists for Streams and keep jingles in folders.
2. Click Playlist->Add Track List... - do this 4 times to add streams and jingles
3. In the result you'll have 4 entries in the playlist. On playback it will select one track (or stream) from the source.
3. Set the "Repeat Playlist" option (under the playlist) to loop it.
That's it. When you add new jingles to a folder - they will be automatically included in the rotation with no effort.

It works very well and it's much simpler than generating a huge playlist.
I notice the title of the streams are not taken from the #EXTINF of the playlist file but instead by what the stream send.
As not every stream is formatted correctly, the "playing now" information is either empty or inaccurate.
I'll digg into that to see where the problem is.

Regarding stream levels, the next update will have a feature to assign File Types to streams - this will make it possible to correct the playback level (via Settings->File Types). Probably a little box with "level" will be added to the Add URL dialog, as this was asked multiple times already.

That will be indeed a very well welcomed feature.

Built-in broadcasting server can work on any port. The only condition is: the port must not be in use by another program. (...) You can check if the port is already used with the netstat -a command in the Windows Command Line.

The commands "netstat -a -b" running as Administrator says the port 80 is used but says "Can not obtain ownership information".
Ah yes, on the services window, the World Web Publishing Service is running (it was on manual start though). Solved.

Thanks again for all your guidance.


My setup: HP laptop dm1 with AMD E-450 & Radeon HD Graphics @ 1.65 Ghz, 4 GB Ram, IDT embedded sound card - Windows 7-64 bits + RadioBoss 4.8.0.8 + Breakaway Live - PC accessed through RDC on local LAN - Stream1: MP3 128K Wavestreamer Shoutcast - Stream2: AAC+ 64K Whooshserver Icecast

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10406
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #254 on: December 17, 2012, 10:20:35 AM »
The say-time feature is already added, I think an update will be released today.THANKS a 1000 :) a christmas gift for new stable release will be soon ?
Yes, RB 4.8 stable will be released before 20th of December. According to issue tracker, it's 98% ready  :)

I notice the title of the streams are not taken from the #EXTINF of the playlist file but instead by what the stream send.
Actually the stream title is taken from the playlist's EXTINF. But there's a bug: title works only when duration is not zero... (this will be addressed in the next update)
To set custom stream title: click Playlist->Add URL. Set the duration and enter the title in the "set broadcast title" field.
If you edit playlist files manually, the stream entry should look like this:
Code: [Select]
#EXTINF:3600,My Custom Title
http://bassdrive.com/v2/streams/BassDrive.m3u #3600
"3600" - length in seconds
"My Custom Title" - is the title you want to use when stream is playing
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net