• English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Русский
Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.
RadioBOSS box
RadioBOSS makes automating your broadcast to the world, your business or shop professional, simple, affordable, reliable.

Author Topic: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]  (Read 181522 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dave-t

  • Posts: 257
  • For The Music We Have Lived
    • Radio 45 Gold
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #300 on: December 20, 2012, 06:18:16 PM »
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to join the beta testing program and a big thank you for the great enhancements you have made.

1. Vastly improved accessibility
2. Major improvements to Scheduling
3. Great developments in the PlayList Generator Pro

Love them all  8)

I would really like to join the 4.9 Beta testing next Spring  ;)

Hope you guys can put your feet up for a few days and enjoy Christmas

Regards

Dave
Regards
Dave

Web:-      www.radio45gold.co.uk
Twitter: - @Radio45Gold

pety

  • Guest
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #301 on: December 21, 2012, 03:51:07 AM »
Error!
In attach

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #302 on: December 21, 2012, 04:34:02 AM »
Casey
If Asio4All causes problems, I'm afraid RB cannot do anything about it... I think it's better to use cards which have native ASIO support.
Using a cheap USB card for prelisten is a good idea.

When I started up the computer today..  Asio4All causes lots of problems! RadioBOSS was unusable. Distortion on main (output) SC and the Monitor SC wouldn't work.. Spent some time trying to get it working again bit had no luck at all..   :(

I had no time to pursue this further as I want to switch over to using the RadioBOSS system on air for my Christmas broadcast which started today.

I did try the USB SC for prelisten for a while but the sound on it got distorted after a while..  I finally went with just using 2 soundcards, 1 for output and the other for monitor.  This works good other than the lag that develops between SCs after a while..  I will have to work on that later.

Not likely that I will be getting any ASIO support soundcards in the near future.. I run a very low budget, non-profit operation, more of a hobby..

Using RadioBOSS 4.8.0.12 - all is working well!   :)

Casey


Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #303 on: December 21, 2012, 04:44:33 AM »
Beta testing is over. Big thanks for everyone who participated!

Is beta testing ever over..  :)
It just continues on is other forms as you move to the next version.. 

It has been interesting being a part of making a great program even better!

The last software project I worked with lasted over 12 years It is coming to an end, the author of the program has stopped working on the project. He has decided to make his source code open source.

When do we start on ver 4.9?   ;D

Best wishes to all for the Christmas season and a Happy New Year!

Casey

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10453
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #304 on: December 21, 2012, 05:09:50 AM »
Hope you guys can put your feet up for a few days and enjoy Christmas
I hope that too, but as always there are minor bugs found just after the release :)

When I started up the computer today..  Asio4All causes lots of problems! RadioBOSS was unusable. Distortion on main (output) SC and the Monitor SC wouldn't work.. Spent some time trying to get it working again bit had no luck at all..   :(
Probably Asio4All needs to be configured... I can't help much on this, as we test RB only on native ASIO cards w/o using Asio4All.
I'd start with checking sample rate frequencies - they should match the ones selected in RB's playback settings.

Error!
In attach
Oops... thanks for reporting. An update will be released shortly.

Is beta testing ever over..  :)
It just continues on is other forms as you move to the next version.. 
That's true. There's always something that can be improved or fixed :) But at least non-betas doesn't have critical (show-stopper) bugs.

When do we start on ver 4.9?   ;D
4.9 is planned for April 2013.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10453
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #305 on: December 21, 2012, 05:45:48 AM »
Update RadioBOSS 4.8.0.13: several minor bugs were fixed

http://dl2.djsoft.net/radioboss_setup_4.8.0.13.exe
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

Joshua

  • Posts: 22
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #306 on: December 21, 2012, 06:01:29 AM »
Hello,

that was one of the best beta test I've seen. fast response, very good cooperation. Thank you!  :)

Merry Christmas @ all

Greeetz
Joshua

Casey

  • Posts: 50
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #307 on: December 21, 2012, 04:43:40 PM »
Probably Asio4All needs to be configured... I can't help much on this, as we test RB only on native ASIO cards w/o using Asio4All.
I'd start with checking sample rate frequencies - they should match the ones selected in RB's playback settings.

An update on the soundcards not staying in sync..  - Not a big problem now!   :)

The SC setup is with 2 soundcards, 1 for output and the other for monitor and prelisten.
After running 10 hours, the 2 SCs are not perfectly in sync but very close.

Another early morning job, getting the system fine tuned.. I played with buffer sizes but in the process also changed to RadioBOSS 4.8.0.13, when you released it. I was getting very tired by this time. I am not sure if it was fixed by getting the right buffer sizes or something you changed.

Also to add to my morning excitement! LOL  ;D

I was really taken off guard when RadioBOSS shut itself down with no warning.  ???
At first I thought it had crashed..

Then RB wanted the registration code.. this had me confused.. It was 4:30 in the morning  almost to early to be thinking. I shut down RB and restarted.. it let me get back on the air, in demo mode.

At this point, I was not sure what to do. I had to try something so I entered the registration code I had.. This fixed it RB and I were both happy!

I checked Help > About.. and see that you have thing well under control!
Thank you   :)

Quote (selected)
4.9 is planned for April 2013.

I will be here as long as nothing out of my control comes along.

Casey

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10453
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #308 on: December 22, 2012, 04:39:20 AM »
that was one of the best beta test I've seen. fast response, very good cooperation. Thank you!  :)
Thank you too!

Another early morning job, getting the system fine tuned.. I played with buffer sizes but in the process also changed to RadioBOSS 4.8.0.13, when you released it. I was getting very tired by this time. I am not sure if it was fixed by getting the right buffer sizes or something you changed.
Nothing changed in the software regarding playback (changes in playback code require extensive testing and therefore are never done in one day). It looks like buffer sizes was the issue.
For cards to be in sync, buffer sizes should be:
- as low as possible
- same size for both cards

I was really taken off guard when RadioBOSS shut itself down with no warning.  ???
At first I thought it had crashed..
Yes, this happens sometimes with beta tester codes... Please check your e-mail.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

pety

  • Guest
RadioBOSS 4.8.2.1 BUG
« Reply #309 on: February 05, 2013, 01:04:31 AM »
I installed RadioBOSS 4.8.2.1 yesterday at RVE Sibiu. I already find a very sorious BUG.
When I resized length of Control Panel (make some fast moves to check it) the track wich was played at that moment was interrupted few times.

pety

  • Guest
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8.2.1 BUG
« Reply #310 on: February 05, 2013, 02:33:41 AM »
I installed RadioBOSS 4.8.2.1 yesterday at RVE Sibiu. I already find a very sorious BUG.
When I resized length of Control Panel (make some fast moves to check it) the track wich was played at that moment was interrupted few times.
Do not forget about this too, THANKS!

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10453
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #311 on: February 05, 2013, 05:59:36 AM »
I installed RadioBOSS 4.8.2.1 yesterday at RVE Sibiu. I already find a very sorious BUG.
When I resized length of Control Panel (make some fast moves to check it) the track wich was played at that moment was interrupted few times.
Does it happen every time or it was a one-time problem? If the latter, I don't think there's much we can do about it.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

pety

  • Guest
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #312 on: February 05, 2013, 06:01:35 AM »
The PC was on for about 4-5 days. After restart RB works great, without any problems. Sorry for false alarm.  :)

RB works great!

DJSTU

  • Posts: 121
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #313 on: February 19, 2013, 04:59:16 AM »
Now that we heading for Version 9....
Are we getting any closer to getting mixing done by db level ?

For me to seriously look at using RadioBoss as a broadcasting system this is one feature that HAS to be implemented first before I would even consider it. Time mixing is just too basic and crude, and to be blunt, not professional.
Altho I pick on some aspects, you have other features which are excellent. However it just isn't there yet as a first class system. But it is not going to take much more work to see your system head in a more professional direction.
Flexibility of layout and more colorization is needed, skins will certainly help. But these can be worked on, just so long as the major operational aspects are there.

You did mention (on the mixing) when I have asked previously that you had it on your list to be implemented.
I am not opposed to time mixing remaining for those who wish to use it. I just want db level added as an optional choice.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10453
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: RadioBOSS 4.8 [beta]
« Reply #314 on: February 19, 2013, 11:36:27 AM »
Crossfades based on db level are planned for RB 4.9. I agree that in most cases dB crossfading will be better.
Beta version will be released in March. I'd be glad if you take part in beta testing and maybe make some suggestions regarding this feature when it's added.

You mentioned layout flexibility - do you have any specific request? Skins are technically possible, you can see it in RadioCaster: in the menu click RadioCaster->Style and select a style. But as RadioBOSS has color/font settings I don't think skins are necessary there...
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net