• English
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Русский
Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.Professional Radio Automation at a price you can afford.
RadioBOSS box
RadioBOSS makes automating your broadcast to the world, your business or shop professional, simple, affordable, reliable.

Author Topic: [Twitter] Post "Nowplaying" statuses  (Read 52158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
[Twitter] Post "Nowplaying" statuses
« on: November 28, 2013, 02:36:36 PM »
To post Nowplaying tweets from RadioBOSS, please do the following:

1. Create Twitter application

Apply for a Twitter developer account https://developer.twitter.com/en/apply-for-access and create a new Twitter app. Get the API Key, API Secret, Access token and Access token secret values for the newly created app - you will need those at the next step.

2. Configure RadioBOSS to update Twitter statuses.

Open RadioBOSS, in the top menu click Settings->Options, select the Reports section.
Check the Enable notifications checkbox.
Click the + button to add a new notification.

Click the Configuration Wizard button. Select Twitter and click Next. Input Twitter app access data: API Key, API Secret, Token, Token Secret.

The Tweet Text typically consists of custom text along with track information variables: http://manual.djsoft.net/radioboss/en/title-format-variables.htm

Example tweet text
Code: [Select]
Nowplaying: %casttitle


After everything is configured, a tweet will be posted each time a song is played in RadioBOSS.



Notice for RadioBOSS versions 5.6 and older, where configuration wizard is not available. In the URL/email field enter the following, change all of the YOUR_* values respectively with Twitter app keys
Code: [Select]
http://user.djsoft.net/twitter/status.php?apikey=YOUR_API_KEY&apisecret=YOUR_API_SECRET&token=YOUR_API_TOKEN&tokensecret=YOUR_API_TOKEN_SECRET&status=%casttitle

If you want to host the status.php script on your web site, please download the attached radioboss_twitter.zip file.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 07:40:29 AM by djsoft »
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

johngrant

  • Posts: 100
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 07:17:24 PM »
It seemed to stop working today.  Getting "Exception: Invalid Server Response" which doesn't seem to be a twitter API issue.

Thoughts?

johngrant

  • Posts: 100
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2014, 07:35:54 PM »
And I am getting it on two different sites I use the php on. 

johngrant

  • Posts: 100
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2014, 11:29:42 AM »
Is this the issue?

https://dev.twitter.com/discussions/24239

Looks like I have to purchase an SSL certificate for my site.

1.  Will the existing script(s) work as-is if I do?
2. Is there any alternative if I elect not to purchase SSL, since I have no other use for it?

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 15, 2014, 12:04:58 PM by johngrant »

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2014, 02:53:10 AM »
Yes, it's the issue. And I'm not sure if purchasing an SSL certificate will fix it, probably the change in the scripts will be required too. I'll look into it later.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

johngrant

  • Posts: 100
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2014, 09:21:25 AM »
Yes, it's the issue. And I'm not sure if purchasing an SSL certificate will fix it, probably the change in the scripts will be required too. I'll look into it later.

Thanks...I thought it would have to be done in the script.

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2014, 02:56:14 PM »
Yes, it now needs to do everything in secure mode (https). Twitter does a very bad practice breaking things this way... In a week or two the scripts will be updated to work with the new API.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

donaorgasmos

  • Posts: 2
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2014, 03:27:39 PM »
Problem : Exception: Invalid server response 


help !!!

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2014, 03:41:06 AM »
Problem : Exception: Invalid server response 
Twitter changed their API (and removed backward compatibility), that's why the scripts doesn't work anymore. We'll update them soon.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

donaorgasmos

  • Posts: 2
post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2014, 10:21:18 PM »
big problem, I put a delay in trial and at the end: (nothing at all ... does not work

moh001

  • Posts: 57
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2014, 07:00:07 AM »
is this working or still under developing ?

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2014, 07:14:13 AM »
is this working or still under developing ?
After Twitter changed theit APIs, it doesn't work. We'll update it later.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

moh001

  • Posts: 57
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2014, 08:17:25 AM »
Quote (selected)
After Twitter changed theit APIs, it doesn't work. We'll update it later.

okay, is there away to do this with Facebook ?

djsoft

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10340
    • http://www.djsoft.net
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2014, 09:52:27 AM »
okay, is there away to do this with Facebook ?
Yes, you can use the HTTP request feature to your own script which will post songs to facebook. Soon we'll offer an example script on how to do it.
Dmitry  •  DJSoft.Net Team  •  Email: support@djsoft.net

moh001

  • Posts: 57
Re: Twitter: post "Nowplaying" statuses
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2014, 11:20:15 AM »
Quote (selected)
Yes, you can use the HTTP request feature to your own script which will post songs to facebook. Soon we'll offer an example script on how to do it.


oh, pretty cool.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2014, 11:29:49 AM by moh001 »